The Widow Maker Trail at Sprewell Bluff

Being within 25 minutes from my house, I could not believe what awesome hiking trails that Sprewell Bluff Park had to offer.

http://www.sprewellbluff.com

The first trail we hit, was a walk along river banks of the Flint. There is nothing better than hearing the water rushing over the rocks. Loved seeing the massive stones, (some I climbed up on) along the side of the river. Just a relaxing walk before hitting the uphill climb to the top of the mountain.

We were able to do a little bit of several trails. We did get a little confused and ended up on the “Widow Maker” trail. It was very challenging with a narrow, steep incline, rocky path along the side of the mountain overlooking the river. While it was a bit intense, I’m glad we made our way on this one. A few “get my breath” breaks were necessary, but those stops gave me some amazing views. Challenging and rewarding are great words to describe this trail.

As with most hikes I’ve been on, there always some unique sites to see. There were a couple of old abandoned cars, an old chimney still standing, and of course an old liquor still. But then the odd trees and beautiful flowers always catch my attention as well.

Sprewell Bluff Park is a not only has hiking trails, but it also is a great place for family gatherings and picnics. It is a great place for kids and adults to cool off with swimming and playing in the river. It is a very popular place to either put in to float or get out from a float down the river. Various fund raising events are held here throughout the year from running the trails to floating the river.

Hiking is one of my hobbies that I get to enjoy with my lifetime best friend. While we enjoy our time catching up, we also enjoy getting our steps in and resetting our attitudes from our busy lifestyles. There is nothing like nature to bring a level of inner peace.

So thankful we found this treasure of a hike. It is definitely one I would love to do again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.