Watkins Mill Bridge State Park

In planning our trips for the year, I wanted to go somewhere that I had never been for my birthday trip. A friend of mine has sent me a pin from pinterest that was a video of Watkins Mill Bridge. People were all over the rocks enjoying rushing waters from the water fall. I instantly knew that I wanted to see this place first hand.

We love the state parks here in Georgia, so of course we looked forward to staying at this camp ground. We were on site # 2. It was a nice pull through and it required little to no leveling. While #2 was good for us, we said that when we go back we would like to stay on either 14,15, or 17.

We enjoyed our evening walks after dinner through the hiking trail that carried us to the covered bridge. From the various wildlife sitings to the beautiful vegetation in the middle of the woods, it was nature at it’s best. There is a man-made waterway channel that runs from the bridge to a second dam just above the ruins of an old power house. This power house was the source of electricity for a textile mill in Crawford, Georgia. The sound of rushing water in the woods gave excitement for what were about to see.

Within 20 miles of our home is a covered bridge that Horace King built. Although Mr. King was born into slavery, he became a highly respected bridge builder. With that being said, we found it very interesting that Watson Mill Bridge was built by Horace King’s son, Washington King. This bridge is the longest covered bridge in the state of Georgia, with a span of 229 feet. It was really cool to be able to actually drive through it as well as walk through it.

Watkins Mill Bridge State Park did NOT disappoint. I love seening new things, but I also love to revisit places that I’ve enjoyed. I hope that at some point I’m able to make another round to this beautiful and traquil State Park.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.